19712 MacArthur Blvd Suite 110 Irvine, CA 92612 | (415) 912-8055

What Are the 5 Stages of PTSD?

What Are the 5 Stages of PTSD?

You’ve probably heard of post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), a mental health issue that can stir up anxiety, flashbacks, nightmares, and other unsettling symptoms after going through a traumatic experience. But did you know that the mental health field often breaks down PTSD into five stages?

Here they are:

Impact: This phase hits right after experiencing something traumatic. It’s when you might feel shocked, overwhelmed, powerless, guilty, anxious, or scared.

Denial: Sometimes, our brains try to protect us by blocking out traumatic memories. So, some folks might go through a stage where they deny the traumatic event even happened.

Rescue: In this stage, someone starts to come to terms with what happened. They might revisit the place where the trauma occurred or think a lot about the event. It’s common to feel confused, despairing, hopeless, or angry during this time.

Acceptance: As someone starts to feel safe again and begins to see the traumatic event differently, they might acknowledge how it has affected their life. They might realize they need help to move forward. Anxiety and trouble sleeping are typical in this phase.

Recovery: In the final stage, someone takes active steps, like seeking professional help, to heal from their trauma and develop ways to cope better.

Let’s collaborate on your path to PTSD recovery together.

No matter which stage of PTSD you’re in, I’m here to support you. I specialize in working with individuals dealing with PTSD, and I understand that your journey is unique. After getting to know your story and how PTSD impacts you, I’ll work with you to tackle your symptoms and work toward a better quality of life. Reach out today to learn more about my services and book your first therapy session.

Sign Up For Our Latest Blogs

Contact Maria Today for a free 15-minute consultation

(415) 912-8055